ODRIS Part 1

Perhaps you first see this odd word “ODRIS” please don’t be surprising because it’s never an English words. It is the first letter abbreviation of Oracle Database Routine Inspection Script (Shell and SQL).

A couple of days ago I assisted my client to review his oracle database on OS AIX, for generating a series of health-check reports speedily and quickly I remembered that Oracle Corp has already provided a pretty funny tool ORAchk (original name is called RACchk) for easing our DBAs’ on-site inspection work. About its download and user-guide you can see MoS 1268927.2. Although ORAchk has a lot of advantage what a pity my client just require simple and clear report that will have indicated where he need to adjust. If adopting ORAchk to review his oracle database the final report will warn some frequent messages with oracle patches and recommended MoS articles.

Based on customer’s considering I determine to write the Oracle Database Routine Inspection Script by myself. I have spent a few days finishing writing it. Now I upload it to my Github code repository – ODRIS. So this post I will introduce my main SQL script file “odris_aix_2.sql”, which consists of 8 sections as follows.

Once you click my previous per section you’ll see my source code, because for code is too long I don’t intend to attach here. By the way I still illustrate my previous sql script file’s named format or pattern. Such as, main code repository_OS environment_updated version number_section (number and Arabic alphabetical order)_the first letter abbreviation of checking content.sql. These sql script files’ named rule is all respectively coming from Carlos Sierra, Mauro Pagano and Rodrigo Jorge‘s Github code – edb360sqld360 and smp360, which inspire me.

The following list is the first letter abbreviation of checking content on every section.

  • 1.1 Oracle Basic Info (OBI)
  • 2.1 Server Host Configuration (SHC)
  • 3.0 System Configuration (SC)
  • 4.0 Database Configuration (DC)
  • 5.1 Security Management (SM)
  • 6.0 Access Source of Database (ASD)
  • 7.0 Tables Info of Database (TID)
  • 8.1 RMAN Backup (RB)

Maybe you ask me why some titles are “.0” and others are “.1”? Because below “.0” has still existed “.1”, “.2” and etc. You just go to reading my code you can know more.

In other words this is only my odris on AIX, and next post I will introduce my odris on Linux (a.k.a ODRIS Part 2) is coming soon, please stay tuned.

Any comments and feedback is always welcome and appreciated.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.